Travel & Tourism
Travel & Tourism 3010 Videos
Parliament House, New Delhi

This video features the Parliament House (Sansad Bhavan) of India situated in New Delhi, the capital city of the country. It accommodates the bicameral legislative body of the federal government and has two chambers, Lok Sabha (the House of the People) and Rajya Sabha (the Council of the states). The office of the President of India functions in this building.

The members of the parliament or MPs in Lok Sabha are elected directly by the people through an election process and those in Rajya Sabha are elected by the members of the State Legislative Assemblies according to proportional voting.

The Parliament House is circular in shape and was designed by the British architects Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker in 1912–1913. The Construction of this huge structure began in 1921. The Parliament House is located on Janpath close to the erstwhile Viceroy's House (Rashtrapati Bhavan) and can also be seen from the India Gate.