Travel & Tourism
Travel & Tourism 3010 Videos
Kerala history: First E.M.S. Ministry in 1957

April 5 of 1957 was a memorable day not only in the history of the state of Kerala but also in the Indian union as a whole. It is on that day the first popular ministry of the united Kerala state was sworn in under the leadership of comrade E.M.S. Namboothiripad. The composition of the ministry was itself a remarkable achievement. The eight communist ministers and the three communist supported independent ministers all had a long tradition of sacrifice and service to social reforms and freedom movement. They were both activists and persons of intellectual eminences.

The panel of ministry under E.M.S. Namboothiripad (as Chief Minister) consisted of C. Achutha Menon as administrator of the party, T.V. Thomas as labour minister and his wife K.R. Gouriamma as revenue minister, V.R. Krishna Aiyer administrator, Professor Joseph Mundassery handling the education portfolio, Dr. A.R. Menon as health minister and K.C. George as food minister. The speaker was Sankara Narayanan Thampi.

Shown in the video is a clipping from the library of Kerala history.