Crawford market is one of the busiest markets in South Mumbai selling fruits and vegetables. However, today the market houses large number of shops selling household items, gift articles, cosmetics, food items and even cosmetics. The market is also noted for a pet store situated at the end of a long alley.
Before the wholesale traders in the market were relocated to Navi Mumbai (New Bombay) in 1996, this was the main wholesale market for fruits in the whole of Mumbai. The design of this market is a blend of Norman and Gothic style of architecture. Interestingly, the market building is the first building in the country to be lit up by electricity (1882).
The imposing building that houses the market was donated to the city by Cowasji Jehangir in 1869. Cowasji Jehangir, a prominent member of the Parsi community, is also the founder of the Jehangir Art Gallery in Mumbai. This market is named after Arthur Crawford, the first Municipal Commissioner of Bombay. However, after Independence, the market was renamed after social reformer Mahatma Jyotirao Phule.