St. Angelo's Fort, Kannur
A massive seafront, triangular, laterite fort, replete with a moat and flanking bastions, the St. Angelo's Fort, also called Kannur Fort, was constructed by the first Portuguese Viceroy, Don Francisco De Almeida, in 1505.
In 1790, the British seized it and transformed it into their chief military station in Malabar. The fort offers a fascinating view of the Moppila Bay, a natural fishing bay, and the five-acre Dharmadom Island situated 100 metres away from the mainland in the Arabian Sea.
A sea wall projecting from the fort separates the rough sea and inland water. The bay is, today, a modern fishing harbour, developed under an Indo-Norwegian project. It is now equipped with the latest technology needed in the fishing industry.