According to Ayurveda, during digestion, each of the six Rasas undergoes a transformation due to the action of digestive juices in the intestinal tract. The transformation of one Rasa into another is called Vipaka.

Vipakas are classified into three types :

1.    Madhura Vipaka
2.    Amla Vipaka 
3.    Katu Vipaka