Disintegration of Indian Empire

The vast Indian empire that Harsha ruled over disintegrated after his death. Malwa was taken over by the Pratiharas, Bengal by the Palas, and the Deccan by the Rashtrakutas. 

The Pratihara dynasty, known as the Gurjara Pratiharas ruled over Rajastan and North India from 6th century A.D. through the 11th. The Palas reigned supreme over the Bihar-Bengal belt from 8th century A.D through the 12th. The Rashtrakutas from Karnataka also set up their influence in the north India

After some time, the Pratiharas disintegrated into smaller Rajaput principalities. The Pala dynasty was subdued by the Sena dynasty. 

It was from the 6th century that the smaller Rajaput principalities started appearing. The Mewad of the Sisodias, the Gujarat of the Solankis, the Malwa of the Paramaras, the Bundelkhand of the Chandelas, the Haryana of the Thomars and similar smaller principalities raised their heads. 

The encounters between Prithviraj Chowhan of the Chowhan dynasty and the Islamic Sultans are famous. The Hawa Mahal of Jaipur, the palaces of Udaipur, and the rock temples of Khajuraho are the contributions of the Rajputs. The Rajastani paintings depicting the romances of Krishna are famous as the Pahari art.

Historians have described the period: "A variety of kings, eras, and people – India was changing, and very fast. The people of the south India were seeking to define their personality and northern India found itself caught up in the turmoil of the happenings in central Asia. The era of the empire was disintegrating.