Dadra and Nagar Haveli

The watershed of the Daman Ganga River, which flows through the territory Dadra and Nagar Haveli  is a Union Territory in western India. It is wedged between Maharashtra and Gujarat, whereas Dadra is an enclave lying a few kilometres north of Nagar Haveli in Gujarat. Its capital is Silvassa.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli are in the towns of Dadra and Silvassa both lie on the north bank of the river Ganga.The Western Ghats range rises to the east, and the foothills of the range occupy the eastern portion of the district. The territory is landlocked, although the Arabian Sea coast lies just to the west in Gujarat.The major spoken languages in the territory are Marathi, Hindi and Gujarati.

Facts at a glance
Time zone: IST (UTC+5:30)
Area: 491 km² (190 sq mi)
Capital: Silvassa
Population:Density 220,451 (5th)  449/km² (1,163/sq mi)
Languages:Marathi, Gujarati
Established 1961-08-11
ISO abbreviation IN-DN