The second-largest metropolis in India after Mumbai, Delhi has a  population of 12.8 million, and with an extended metropolitan population of almost 22 million Delhi is one of the oldest continually inhabited cities in the world Located in northern India on the banks of the River Yamuna, Delhi has the political status of a federally-administered union territory known as the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT), which in itself is part of National Capital Region. A constitutional amendment in 1991 gave Delhi a special status among the Union Territories; Delhi has its own legislative assembly with limited powers. The National Capital Territory of Delhi comprises nine districts, 27 tehsils, three statutory towns.They are Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD), New Delhi Municipal Committee (NDMC) and Delhi Cantonment Board (DCB),

Having been the capital of several empires in ancient India, Delhi was a major city in the old trade routes from northwest India to the Gangetic Plains. Many ancient monuments, archaeological sites and remains of national importance have been erected in its history. The Mughals built a section of the city (now known as Old City or Old Delhi) that served as the capital of Mughal Empire for a long period. During the British Raj, New Delhi was built as an administrative quarter of the city. New Delhi was declared the capital of India after India gained independence from British rule in 1947. As the seat of the Government of India, New Delhi houses important offices of the federal government, including the Parliament of India, making Delhi a powerhouse of Indian politics.

Delhi has grown up to be a cosmopolitan city owing to the immigration of people from across the country. Like many other large cities of the world, Delhi suffers from urbanisation problems such as pollution, traffic congestion, and scarcity of resources. The rapid development and urbanisation of Delhi and surrounding areas coupled with the high average income of the populace has largely eclipsed socio-cultural traits that used to represent Delhi until a few years after independence.Today, Delhi is a major cultural, political, and commercial center of India.

As the capital city of our nation there are many places in Delhi which are of tourist attraction. They include Qutub Minar, Red Fort, Purana Quila, Jantar Mantar Humayun Tomb, Jama Masjid, Safdarjung's Tomb, India Gate, Rashtrapati Bhawan, Raj Ghat, Lakshmi Narayan Mandir

Red Fort, so called because of the red stone with which it is built, is one of the most magnificent palaces in the world. India's history is also closely linked with this fort. Purana Quila the fort is said to be constructed on the historic site of Indraprastha (900BC) by Humayun and Sher Shah. Covering a circuit of about a mile, the walls of the fort have three gates and are surrounded by a mat fed by the river Yamuna. The first mature example of Mughal architecture in India, Humayun's Tomb was built by the emperor's grieving widow, Haji Begum, in 1565 AD.Work on the Jama Masjid mosque was begun in 1650 by the Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan to complement his palace at the Red Fort. More than 5,000 workers toiled for six years to complete the largest mosque in India. Every Friday, the emperor and his retinue would travel in state from the fort to the mosque to attend the congressional prayers.

Representing the last phase of the Mughal style of architecture, Safdarjang's Tomb stands in the centre of an extensive garden. Built as a memorial to commemorate the 70,000 India soldiers killed in World War I, India Gate was designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens and completed in 1931.

Formely the Viceregal Lodge, the building Rashtrapati Bhawan is the highlight of Lutyen's New Delhi and was completed in 1929 at a cost of 12,53,000 pound sterling. Located in an area of 130 hectares, the palace has 340 rooms. Rajghat on the west bank of the river Yamuna has the mortal remains of Mahatma Gandhi.

Facts at a glance
Time zone: IST (UTC+5:30), Area: 239 m (784 ft)[1] District(s), Population: Density Metro 13,782,976 (2,001 census) 17 million (2,008 estimate) (2007), 7,758/km² (20,093/sq mi)21.5 million (2007), Languages Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu, Established: 1 November 1958, Website: