Daman and Diu

Daman and Diu is a union territory in India. For over 450 years, these coastal enclaves on the Arabian Sea coast were part of Portuguese India, along with Goa and Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman, and Diu were incorporated into the Republic of India on December 19, 1961; Portugal did not recognize the Indian annexation of these territories until 1974. Goa, Daman, and Diu were administered as part of a single union territory until 1987, when Goa was granted statehood, leaving Daman and Diu as a separate union territory; each enclave constitutes one of the union territory's two districts.

Apart from mostly used languages like Gujarathi ,Marathi and English Portuguese is also used widely but  the use of Portuguese goes on declining because it is no longer official nor taught at school, though a number of elder people can still understand it, some even preferring it for discourse at home.

In Daman, one can visit the Fort of St. Jerome at Nani Daman, where there is a Jain temple as well. The 17th-century-old Se Cathedral and the Church of Our Lady of Rosary in Moti Daman are also worth a visit, and one can see the exquisite Portuguese carvings on the walls of these churches. The churches are a major attraction of tourism in Daman, with their exquisite architecture and interiors. There is a 1000 feet high hill resort near Daman called Saputara which literally means abode of serpents. Reputed for its beaches and first-rate liquors, it is a paradise for one in search of serenity.
Tourist Spots to be seen in and Silvassa town  are Children's Park, Tribal Museum, Ram Temple, Balaji Temple, Ayyappa Temple, Church, Van Dhara Garden, Hirva Van Garden

Facts at a glance
Time zone: IST (UTC+5:30)
Area: 122 km² (47 sq mi)
Capital: Daman
 Population:Density 158,059 (6th) 1,296/km² (3,357/sq mi)
Languages: Gujarati, Marathi, English
Established :1987-05-30
ISO abbreviation: IN-DD