Lakshadweep is the smallest union territory of India and the name Lakshdweep literally translates as "hundred thousand islands". Until 1973, the island group was known by the anglicised name Laccadives (compare to Maldives and Suvadives) although the term Laccadives strictly only applies to central Lakshdweep with the northern Amindivi Islands and Minicoy to the south considered separate. This is reflected in the pre-1973 name of the union territory, Laccadive, Minicoy, and Amindivi Islands,The Laccadive Islands plus Minicoy Island are known as the Cannanore Islands.

The main islands are Kavaratti (where the capital city, Kavaratti, is located), Agatti, Minicoy, and Amini. The total population of the territory was 60,595 according to the 2001 census and the  total land area of the territory is 32 km².The group is located 200 to 300 km off of the coast of Kerala in the Arabian Sea.. Eleven of the islands are inhabited. Lakshadweep is the northern part of the erstwhile Lakshadweep. It officially consists of 12 atolls, 3 reefs and 5 submerged banks, with a total of about 36 islands and islets. The reefs are in fact also atolls, although mostly submerged, with only small unvegetated sand cays above the high water mark. The submerged banks are sunken atolls.

Apart from the main capital Kavaratti Bangaram, Agatti, Kadamat, Minicoy, Kalpeni are the major tourist spots. The water sports are the major attraction and the scenic beauty adds a different dimension to the island. The green vegetation and the blue water of the sea make a wonderful combination.This place is perfect honeymoon terminus too.

Facts at a glance
Time zone: IST (UTC+5:30)
Area: 32 km² (12 sq mi)
Largest city: Kavaratti
Population:Density 60,595 1,894/km² (4,905/sq mi)
Languages: Malayalam
Established: 1956-11-01
ISO abbreviation: IN-LD