Tripura is a state in North-East India surrounded by Bangladesh on the north, south and west. The Indian states of Assam and Mizoram lie to the east. The capital is Agartala and the main languages spoken are Bengali and Kokborok (also known as Tripuri). It was formerly an independent Tripuri kingdom and was merged with independent India on 15 October 1949 by the Tripura Merger Agreement.

Tripura is a landlocked hilly state with altitudes varying from 50 to 3080 ft above sea level, though the majority of the population lives in the plains. It is surrounded on the north, west, and south by Bangladesh and is accessible to the rest of India through the Cachar district of Assam and Aizawl district of Mizoram in the east.. Tripura is the third smallest state of the country.

Although landlocked, Tripura has many rivers including the Manu River which originates here. Agriculture and allied activities are the mainstay of the people of Tripura and provides employment to about 64% of the population.

Tripura has several diverse ethno-linguistic groups, which has given rise to a composite culture. The dominant culture is Bengali, while minority cultures are those of the Tripuris,Jamatia, Reang, Noatia, Koloi, Murasing, Chakma, Halam, Garo, Kuki, Lushai, Mogh, Munda, Oraon, Santhal and Uchoi.

Tripura has a rich cultural heritage of music, fine arts, handicrafts and dance. Music is an integral part of the tribal people of Tripura. Some of their indigenous instruments are the sarinda, chongpreng and sumui (a kind of flute). Songs are sung during religious occasions, marriages and other festivals. Agricultural festivals are integral to the culture of the state.

Dance is important to the tribal way of life. Dances are performed during Goria Puja. Hojagiri dance is performed by standing on a pitcher and is performed by the Reang clans. The Bihu dance is performed by the Chakmas during Chaitra Sankranti (the last day of the month of Chaitra).

Places of interest
•    Amarpur
•    Chaturdasha Temple
•    Hwlwighati
•    Jampui Hills
•    Kamalasagar
•    Khumulwng
•    Neermahal
•    Rasu Kami
•    Tripura Sundari temple

Facts at a glance
Time zone – IST (UTC+5:30). Area – 10,492 km² (4,051 sq mi). Capital – Agartala. Largest city – Agartala. District(s) – 4. Population – 3,191,168 (21st). Density – 304 /km² (787 /sq mi). Language(s) – Bengali, Kokborok (Tripuri).  Established – 1972-01-21.